rom

Interview with Matthias Rossner, Product Quality Assurance

Tell us a little bit about your career so far.
Back when I was in school I did a career aptitude test with the Chamber of Commerce’s local Business Development Centre (Wirtschaftsförderungsinstitut). This confirmed that my talents are in communication technology/electronics. I was also given a list of firms the offer vocational training in this area. I liked Commend, so I sent them my application. Shortly after that they replied with an offer for a taster training course. There was a written test and some practical tasks I had to perform, and after the interview I was actually lucky enough to be able to begin my official apprenticeship at Commend.

What was your apprenticeship like?
It was excellent! The syllabus was very well structured, and I got a lot of help and support whenever I needed it. I particularly enjoyed the opportunity to work on all sorts of different tasks, so it was great always having someone to answer my questions. This has helped me learn a lot and gain lots of technical skills, but also how to work independently and using lateral, networked thinking. I can highly recommend the experience of an apprenticeship, especially here at Commend.

What do you currently do at Commend?
I am working at the Product Quality Assurance department, where I am responsible for customer repairs. My responsibilities include fixing faulty components and devices that customers have sent in for repair. It involves a lot of different interesting tasks and challenges: identifying faults, repairing, testing and documenting product quality.

What are your future career plans?
As part of a company-wide “road trip”, Commend made it possible for me to pay a visit their Swiss distribution partner. It was a great experience – I could actually see all the components being installed that I am dealing with every day at the workshop. This visit has opened up a new job perspective for me, as Commend Switzerland offered me a position. I accepted, as I like the idea of working closer to the customer and gaining some work experience abroad. A few months from now I’ll be starting work at Commend Switzerland.

Will it be difficult for you to leave Salzburg?
I hope the working environment in Switzerland will be as amazing as the one I’ve been enjoying here in Salzburg over the past few years. Working with my colleagues is a great experience, as is the support that I get from Commend as a firm. Of course, I’m going to miss my family – especially the mountain walks with my dad and brothers. But luckily I won’t have to give up mountain walks in Switzerland, and I’m sure I’ll find someone to accompany me as well.